Carl Sandburg Carl Sandburg


Cornhuskers is the collection of 103 poems. It earned Sandburg the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. ROBERT FROST: "An authentic original voice in literature."—The Atlantic Monthly. MOUNTAIN INTERVAL: "A remarkable work touched with prophecy and poetic passion."—Brooklyn Eagle. "A poetic art almost classical in its restraint."—Review of...More
Poem Poetry collection

Carl August Sandburg (January 6, 1878 – July 22, 1967) was a Swedish-American poet, biographer, journalist, and editor. He won three Pulitzer Prizes: two for his poetry and one for his biography of Abraham Lincoln. During his lifetime, Sandburg was widely regarded as "a major figure in contemporary literature", especially for volumes of his collected verse, including Chicago Poems (1916), Cornhuskers (1918), and Smoke and Steel (1920). He enjoyed "unrivaled appeal as a poet in his day, perhaps because the breadth of his experiences connected him with so many strands of American life", and at his death in 1967, President Lyndon B. Johnson observed that "Carl Sandburg was more than the voice of America, more than the poet of its strength...More

Publish Date : 30 Mar 2021

Reading Time : 1 Hour

Chapter : 103

Free (₹ 0.00)

Reviews : 0

People read : 21

Added to wish list : 0